Lovin’ My Husband This Week

Mom always made Valentine’s Day fun for us growing up and I loved giving Valentine’s cards to my classmates.  Oh! and the fun of making  my card box.  Total bliss!  However, the years between middle school and dating my husband found me quite apathetic about Valentine’s day… not negative, just not caring about it one way or another.

Since I began sharing Valentine’s with my Mr. 3 years ago, it has been loads more fun, but instead of it being a special day to spend all our $$ I see it as a reminder of how I should show love to my Mr. throughout the year.

This week I’m trying to be creative in how I am lovin’ my husband.   I enjoy doing a mix of things: fun, romantic, childish, practical.  Just something to say ILY!  Yesterday I started the week by kidnapping his car (or is that carnapping?) from the office and had it cleaned inside and out.  It was especially nasty from our trip last week through Northern Vermont‘s snowy roads.  The snow was beautiful and made skiing a blast, but our car was an absolute mess.  The Mr. had been meaning to clean it since we had returned and he totally enjoyed coming out  of the office and finding a spotless car free of salty sludge.

I also left a cutesy gift for him in the car.  Through my blog browsing, I found a cute boy’s valentine on 30HandmadeDays.  So I did a variation of “I Wheelie Like You” and filled a brown paper lunch with a  small bag of granola, a bag of SweetTart hearts, some Jolly Rancher Lollipops, and then sealed the bag with the print-out and a police matchbox car.  It ended up being a great snack for his drive home from work.

Today, I’m breaking out the baking skills and making these Heart-Shaped Cinnamon Rolls inspired by Pinch My Salt.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

How do you and your partner celebrate Valentine’s (or not)?

What are the special ways you show love to your partner throughout the year?

This entry was posted in For Fun, Husband, marriage, relationships, wife. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

